Books & Magazines The 90s

Harry Potter

Harry Potter is a series of fantasy novels written by J.K Rowling. The books tell the story of a young boy named Harry Potter who discovers he is a wizard. There are seven books in total with the first being released in in 1997 and the last in 2007.

Harry Potter is a young orphan boy who grows up in the home of his aunt and uncle. Before his eleventh birthday, he discovers he is a wizard and has admission to the wizarding school Hogwarts. Over the span of seven books, Harry learns magic, makes his two best friends (Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger) and discovers the terrible secret of his family’s past.

When J.K Rowling originally finished the first book, dozens of publishers turned her down. Eventually, Bloomsbury in the UK picked up the first book. They became a cultural phenomenon and  remain the best-selling book series in history. The Harry Potter series has sold over 450 million copies and have been translated in more than 65 languages.


All seven of the books were  turned into movies–although the seventh book was split among two movies. Daniel Radcliffe played Harry Potter, Emma Watson played Hermione Granger and Rupert Grint played Ron Weasley.

The eight-film franchise remains the highest-grossing film series of all time. There are Harry Potter video games, board games, playing cards, figurines and more. It is estimated that the Harry Potter brand is worth over 15 billion dollars.




List of Harry Potter Books

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcer’s Stone
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Comments are closed.

Copyright @ 2014 The Answers Network. All Rights Reserved.